Juan Linz Prize

Publicado el 24 de octubre de 2013 a las 09h. y 30m. por Charo Llera en AECPA

The purpose of the Juan Linz Prize is to honour a prominent scholar engaged in the Decentralization, Multinational and Multiethnic Integration and Federalism Comparative Research of which Juan Linz was a master. The recipient presents the Juan Linz lecture or leads a special session at the IPSA World Congress of Political Science. The award is made on the recommendation of the Committee on Awards. It is supported by the Juan Linz fund.

Juan Linz fund was created and sponsored by the EUSKOBAROMETRO observatory of the University of the Basque Country, is open to new other institutional participants and managed by the Spanish Political and Administrative Science Association.

Amount – 3,000 USD (1 RECIPIENT)

The prize is of $3,000 USD for one winner.

Funding: Juan Linz fund

Nomination Deadline – April 1, 2014

The deadline to nominate is June 1st of the world congress year. The prize will be awarded at the upcoming World Congress.

Guidelines for Nomination:

Nominations for the prize can be made by one of the following four ways:

a) jointly by two or several national associations of IPSA;

b) jointly by two or several IPSA Research Committees;

c) jointly by four or more IPSA members in good standing of at least two different nationalities;

d) from outside IPSA, by established academic institutions active in political science.

Nominations must indicate the merits of the nominee and be accompanied by his/her biography and bibliography. The propositions should also include letters of recommendation, signed by eminent scholars, as well as a report about citations of the nominee in the Social Science Citation Index during the previous 15 years.

Actors of the Juan Linz fund should submit their nominations report to the EC.

Nominations are to be sent:

By email: A PDF copy by email to the attention of Guy Lachapelle, the IPSA Secretary General, to: awards@ipsa.org


By mail: A printed copy by mail to:

Guy Lachapelle
Secretary General
International Political Science Association (IPSA)
1590, av. Docteur-Penfield, bureau 331
Montréal (QC) H3G 1C5

The prize recipient is chosen by the IPSA Executive Committee, by secret ballot, among the nominees proposed as indicated above. The final choice is the prerogative of the IPSA Executive Committee. Current officers of the IPSA Executive Committee and of the Council, as well as the officers of the Research Committees are not eligible for this award. Former IPSA officers become eligible four years after the end of their last mandate.